David Gonçalves - 2011 Winning Essay

David Gonçalves

I have been fascinated by science from my earliest youth. Particularly, the infinitely large distances of space captivated me and seized all my attention. So it is paradoxical that today I work with the infinitely small - to be more exact, nanoparticles. Nanotechnology is an area that is growing very quickly. Many experts believe that this technology will develop more applications in less than 25 years than electricity did in one hundred.

After finishing microbiology studies at the University of Montreal, I commenced second level studies at the Armand Frapper Institute in Laval, on the effect of nanoparticles on human health. I am currently engaged in Doctorate studies on the same subject. I firmly believe that if we wish to profit from these technologies, we must have confidence that these new materials will not impair human health. I have already published results bearing on this subject which show that titanium dioxide, one of the most used nanoparticles, can activate neurophils, the most abundant white cells in the human body.

My academic aims are to continue my studies on this subject, and to classify nanoparticles according to their potential to cause inflammation. This without doubt will be a valuable medical tool. In the long run, I expect to obtain a position as a university researcher in the subject.

Finally, just as the infinitely great was an inspiration for me, the infinitely small is likely also to fascinate young people. My aim is to transmit my passion for science to future generations of scientists.

David Gonçalves - Dissertation du lauréat, 2011

David Gonçalves

Depuis mon tout jeune âge, je suis fasciné pas la science en général. J’étais surtout intéressé par les sciences spatiales car l’infiniment grand captivait toute mon attention. Il est donc paradoxal qu’aujourd’hui je travaille sur l’infiniment petit, plus précisément les nanoparticules. La nanotechnologie est un domaine en pleine expansion. Plusieurs experts pensent que cette technologie permettra de développer plus d’applications en moins de 25 ans que l’électricité en 100 ans.

Après avoir effectué des études en microbiologie à l’université de Montréal, j’ai entamé des études de deuxième cycle à l’Institut Armand-Frappier à Laval sur l’effet des nanoparticules sur la santé humaine. J’effectue maintenant mes études de doctorat sur le même sujet. Je crois fermement que si nous voulons profiter de ces technologies, il faut s’assurer que ces nouveaux matériaux soient sans effets sur la santé humaine. J’ai déjà publié des résultats portant sur ce sujet et qui démontrent que le dioxide de Titane, une des nanoparticules les plus utilisées, est capable d’activer le neutrophile, le globule blanc le plus abondant chez l’humain.

Mes objectifs académiques consistent à poursuivre mes études sur le sujet et d’initier un classement des NP en fonction de leur potentiel inflammatoire. Cela deviendra assurément un outil très intéressant en médecine. J’envisage un jour d’obtenir un poste de chercheur universitaire sur le sujet.

Enfin, tel que l’infiniment grand l’a été pour moi, l’infiniment petit risque de fasciner aussi les plus jeunes. J’ai l’intention de transmettre ma passion pour la science aux futures générations de scientifiques.