The Art Sparrow Memorial Scholarship

Art Sparrow

The Art Sparrow Memorial Scholarship was named in memory of a prominent member of Mensa Canada, and a man of great integrity. He had high expectations for himself and for others, and saw life as a source of perpetual learning.

He was always willing to help members of Mensa who wished to increase their knowledge and improve their lot in life through continuing education. He assisted others both financially and as a mentor. Art would always find time to encourage, advise or inform his fellow Mensa members whenever asked.

Art received and expected the best from everyone. He had many hobbies, including car rallies, climbing and piloting aircraft. He was a builder by profession and was known in the Toronto construction industry as "the good estimator". Art joined Mensa in 1967.

When Art left us, his family decided to perpetuate his philosophy and beliefs by providing a grant to Mensa in his name. The Art Memorial Scholarship was established to recognize students who have overcome substantial difficulties in order to continue their studies.

La bourse commémorative Art Sparrow

Art Sparrow

La bourse d'études commémorative Art Sparrow a été nommée à la mémoire d'un grand membre de Mensa, un homme sérieux de grande intégrité. Il avait des attentes élevées pour lui-même et pour les autres et voyait la vie comme une source perpétuelle d'apprentissage.

Par conséquent, il était disposé à aider les membres de Mensa qui souhaitaient augmenter leurs connaissances et améliorer leur sort dans la vie par l'éducation permanente. Il a assisté les membres financièrement et comme mentor. Il pouvait toujours trouver le temps d'encourager, conseiller ou renseigner ses confrères quand on l'approchait.

M. Sparrow a reçu et s'est attendu du meilleur de chacun. Il a eu beaucoup de passe-temps, y inclut chauffeur de rallyes, l'escalade et le pilotage d'avions. Il était un constructeur par profession et fut connu dans l'industrie du bâtiment de Toronto comme "the excellent estimator". Art a adhéré à Mensa en 1967.

Quand Arthur nous a quitté, sa famille a décidé perpétuer sa philosophie et croyances en dotant une bourse de Mensa en son nom. Et ainsi La bourse d'études commémorative Art Sparrow a été établie pour reconnaître les étudiants qui ont surmonté des difficultés pour poursuivre leurs études.